top of page

How Creating Patterns Allows Us to Release Expectations

For awhile now, I have been watching some artists create patterns. They were so simple, inviting, and beautiful. The simplicity is what drew me in the most. I am familiar with detailed artworks that take days or weeks to complete, but what about art that requires less time? less planning? less judgement? more freedom? and that anybody can do?! I have been diving into this thought process of how the community can get more involved in the creative process and make art as well. It's more than just looking at art to feel an emotion, but what

about creating your own artwork? It's time for humanity to get their fingers dirty in some paint and charcoal and see how fun it is and we can do this by creating patterns.


When I started practicing patterns I noticed that it evolved as I kept drawing, because I didn't know what I was going to add next and that added a type of excitement I hadn't experienced during my training in college. Back then, we had to know exactly what the end product was going to look like with no surprises. But that is expected for the illustration field. So when I graduated and realized the opportunity that lies within the unexpected and unknown I had found a new form of excitement. Drawing patterns encourages this freedom and excitement because the next symbols or element that you add to your pattern is thought of in the moment rather than planned out. That allows us to be more in the moment and find excitement and joy in the surprised that can unfold.


Creating patterns has given me the opportunity to think more about this. Later this week, I will be exploring patterns in a webinar with PureEsperanza. I couldn't be more excited to have this chance to explore how patterns can offer a space for people to have fun, creating art without judgment.


Judgement sneaks up on so many of us, especially when we create art. As children, this wasn't much of an issue because we didn't learn yet that we could be so self critical. While working at a paint and sip business I realized just how often we criticize ourselves to the point where we don't even try the things that excite us. However, I believe patterns offers a simple way to dip our toes into the world of creating art. Patterns offer a way to start small and keep building on our experience to see what we come up with. It helps take away the vision of what we expect our art to look like when it's finished and give in to the process of creating.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page